News

The most interesting things about school life, our students’ achievements and pastime

18.03

Technology saves lives

Students of Boiko School are not the only ones to save lives. Some of our teachers also take part in this noble project. During the last month our robot technology teachers provided technical support to our city’s neurosurgeons. The end task was to make a titanium plate that would cover the damaged areas of a child’s skull, caused by a road accident (you can see how massive the damage was from the size of the model below). With the help of a 3D printer our robot technologists created a plastic model of the damaged skull. This model would be used by medical technicians to take the titanium plate. Andriy Gorbatenko, a teacher of robot technology at Boiko School, says that creating this model was an extremely complex task, which he would not have undertaken, had it not been for the chance to save the life of the abovementioned child. It was difficult to create the model based solely on the tomographic image. Even the powerful computers of our robot technology classroom would not process such a big and sophisticated model on their own, so extra memory modules had to be applied. There were other technical difficulties, but our teachers managed to create the much-needed model on time. Now it is up to the medical technicians and doctors to complete the task.

Initially the idea of the school Head, Mr. Makagon, the 3D printer was the result of collaboration of robot technology teachers, primary school students and their parents. Like any other part that can be printed on it, the printer itself was initially created as a 3D model on the computer.

3D printing (or additive manufacturing, AM) is used to make a three-dimensional object. In 3D printing, additive processes are used, in which successive layers of material are laid down under computer control. These objects can be of almost any shape or geometry, and are produced from a 3D model or other electronic data source. A 3D printer is a type of industrial robot.
3D printing is a processes that sequentially deposit material (special ecologically safe plastic: ABS or PLA) onto a powder bed with inkjet printer heads. This is how, one layer after another, a model gets built.

Новости

Все самое интересное о школьной жизни, достижениях и досуге наших учеников

18.03

технологии спасают жизнь

Не только выпускники, но и учителя школы Бойко участвуют в спасении жизней. Весь последний месяц наши преподаватели робототехники осуществляли техническую поддержку харьковским нейрохирургам. Итоговая задача – сделать титановую пластину, закрывающую повреждения черепа ребенка, попавшего в автокатастрофу (о масштабах повреждения можно судить по модели). С помощью 3d-принтера нашими робототехниками была создана пластиковая модель поврежденного черепа. По этой модели медики-техники и будут формировать титановую пластину. По словам Андрея Даниловича Горбатенко, учителя робототехники в АШБ, создание модели было сверхсложной задачей, за которую он бы не взялся, не будь на кону жизнь ребенка. Сложности возникли сразу же, ведь компьютерную модель пришлось создавать по снимку томографии. Даже мощные компьютеры нашего кабинета робототехники не смогли самостоятельно обработать такую сложную и большую модель – пришлось задействовать дополнительные блоки памяти. Технические сложности возникали и на последующих стадиях, но в итоге, наши преподаватели сумели в срок сделать нужную модель. Теперь очередь медицинских техников и докторов.
Наш 3D-принтер “родился” в стенах школы по инициативе директора. Над его созданием потрудились учителя робототехники, ученики младших классов, а также их родители. Как и любая деталь, напечатанная на нём, он создавался сначала как трехмерная модель на компьютере.
В основе 3D-печати лежит принцип послойного создания (выращивания) твёрдого объекта. Специальный экологически безопасный пластик (ABS или PLA) плавится в головке-экструдере и выдавливается, тонким слоем наносится на подогретый стол. И так далее слой за слоем выращивается модель.